Register | Print Page | Sign In
CMS/CSMS Program

Certified Manufacturing Specialist (CMS/CSMS)

The Certified Manufacturing Specialist (CMS) program is geared toward programs with a strong manufacturing emphasis and the exam was developed with help from ATMAE members working in such programs.


Certified Manufacturing Specialist(CMS)is the initial certification status awarded to eligible applicants. CMS status is on-going upon annual dues payments. Reporting of continuing education activity is not required to maintain CMS status; CMS holders may report continuing education activity in order to qualify for Certified Senior Manufacturing Specialist (CSMS) status. CMS holders who report 30 PDU may upgrade to CSMS status.


Certified Senior Manufacturing Specialist (CSMS) is the higher-level "senior" status and is awarded to:

  • Eligible initial applicants with three years of post-graduate professional experience who have completed 30 PDUs of continuing education activity prior to their initial application for CMS certification.
  • CMS certificate holders who have reported 30 PDUs of continuing education activity since their CMS certification.

Continuing Education is Required for CSMS!

  • CSMS certification is renewable every three years and requires 30 PDUs of continuing education activity within each 3-year CSMS period to be eligible for recertification for another 3-year period.
  • CSMS holders who do not report 30 PDUs at the end of the 3-year certification will lose their CSMS certification.

About the CMS Exam

The CMS Exam can be used for individual certification and for program assessment. The exam is an *open-book, 180-question, multiple choice examination with questions on the following 16 content areas: Manufacturing Joining, Forming, and Casting, Machining, Non Traditional Machining, Polymers, Industrial Materials, Computer Integrated Manufacturing, Production Planning, Quality; Management & Supervision, Metrology, Wood Technology, Technical Drafting, Manufacturing Philosophies, and Electronics. (*Examinees are allowed to use printed reference materials (e.g., reference texts) during the exam. However, internet or software-based references are not allowed to be used during the exam. Oversight of this is the responsibility of the exam proctor.) Passage of the exam is determined by a cumulative score on the examination.

Click here to review the CMS Certification and Assessment Study Guide.





Individuals: Click here to sign up to take the exam as an individual (if you are taking the test as part of a class assessment, speak to your professor for log-in information). Exam fee is $25 per examinee.



Schedule a group of individual exams:       

Less than 15 Examinees; Exam fee is $25 per examinee -- Click here 

16-45 Examinees; Exam fee is $20 per examinee -- Click here

46 or more Examinees; Exam fee is $15 per examinee -- Click here


APPLY FOR YOUR CERTIFICATION (after passing the exam) :


Certification Fees and Policies

Certification Frequently Asked Questions

- Click here to apply for the CMS/CSMS Certification


Students - Click here to apply for the CMS/CSMS Certification


Please contact the ATMAE office with questions at (919) 635-8335 or